Notice: Undefined variable: saleSTD in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 11

Notice: Undefined variable: saleCD in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 17

Notice: Undefined variable: le_preorder in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 29

Notice: Undefined variable: ca_preorder in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 35

Notice: Undefined variable: preorderCA in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 47

Notice: Undefined variable: index in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/includes/globals.php on line 53
Zola Jesus: Valusia | Sacred Bones Records — New York, NY, NYC
  • Preorder Lust for Youth's new LP, International
  • Preorder Amen Dunes' new LP, Love
  • Order The Men's new LP, Tomorrow's Hits
Zola Jesus: Valusia

Notice: Undefined variable: saleSTD in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/releases/sbr039/index.php on line 83

Standard Edition: $13

Notice: Undefined variable: saleCD in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/releases/sbr039/index.php on line 121

Standard Edition (CD): $11

Buy Digital

  • Other Music

  • Notice: Undefined variable: mp3_emusic in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/releases/sbr039/index.php on line 196
  • iTunes
  • Amazon

  • Notice: Undefined variable: mp3_lala in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/releases/sbr039/index.php on line 199

Zola Jesus


Notice: Undefined variable: myspace in /home/vwk2c5s3mmhf/public_html/releases/sbr039/index.php on line 230
Format: 12"EP, CDEP*
Catalog #: SBR-039
Side A:
  1. Poor Animal
  2. Tower
Side B:
  1. Sea Talk
  2. Lightsick

* CD BONUS ONLY: Videos for “Night” & “Clay Bodies” by Jacqueline Castel

Saying the last six months have been a whirlwind for Sacred Bones’ youngest roster artist would certainly be a bit of an understatement. In addition to turning 21 successfully, by the time you read this, she will have also graduated college with a double major, and left her home of Wisconsin for the significantly less flat pavement of Los Angeles. But beyond the collegiate and personal milestones, Zola Jesus has attained some crucial career milestones since her last EP as well. She will be heading out on her first proper tours this fall, (three of them back-to-back, actually) supporting Fever Ray and Xiu Xiu abroad and The xx stateside. Don’t worry, there will be plenty of headline shows sprinkled throughout as well, and yes, most of the shows will be with her full backing band.

She has also worked with a producer (Chris Coady) for the first time, the fruits of which labor appear here on the first track, “Poor Animal,”featuring Cult of Youth member Christiana Key on violin. Gone are the morose, gothic low-fi vibes, and in their place is an airy, almost dance track that still sounds as true to form as other endeavor Danilova has ever undertaken. An old hit and recent show-stopper live track, “Sea Talk” has been re-recorded as well, and this new, well mic’d version is breathtakingly good. There will be a video coming for that soon too directed by Jacqueline Castel. Closer “Lightsick” is a straight piano ballad—not synth, real piano. And for her darker fans, “Tower” still has that Mad-Max apocalyptic creep we know and love. Additionally, the artwork for this record presents a softer, blonder ZJ as photographed by her mother in the woods near their home. Less chocolate tasting and lovely in a whole new way.

Return to all releases